Aircraft

The Russian Tupolev Tu-95 Bear, A Great Veteran

Russia’s very different but strategic equivalent to the USA’s B52 shocked Western defence planners when it was introduced in 1956 and it’s still flying

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay
9 min readNov 15, 2023

--

A Russian Tu-95 Bear ‘H’ photographed from a RAF Typhoon Quick Reaction Alert aircraft (QRA) with 6 Squadron from RAF Leuchars in Scotland. Credit: By Photo: RAF/MOD, OGL v1.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=36739848

There are few things Russian that I admire, but I’m not alone in admiring the Tupolev Tu-95 bomber, as well as the Antonov AN-2.

I had my own private air display of the Antonov AN-2 while in Cuba in 2017, and I’ve stood in the bomb-bay of a B-52, but I’ve never seen the Bear up close. Yet.

Just like the B-52 this plane is a relic of the cold war and still very much a key part of its country’s defences. And offences — it currently launching cruise missiles against Ukraine.

The Tu-95 Bear is an iconic and distinctive aircraft and I’ve taken a close look at it, maybe nerdy even.

Origins and Design

The Tu-95, designed by the Soviet Union’s Tupolev Design Bureau, first took to the skies in 1952. The aircraft’s design is notable for its four Kuznetsov NK-12 turboprop engines, each driving two contra-rotating propellers. This unique propulsion system gives the Tu-95 its distinctive sound, often described as a “whirring” or “buzzing,” earning it…

--

--

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay

Follow me for a 2 x Top Writer diet: true stories, humour, tech, AI, travel, geopolitics and occasional fiction as I write around the world on my old boat.