Cosmology

Why Should You Worry About Black Holes?

Because there’s a primordial one coming your way soonish. Yes, someone’s actually calculated the probability…

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay
6 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Image credit: https://pixabay.com/users/mastertux-470906/

The sun and stars have always fascinated me. I did a bit of astrophysics as part of my physics undergrad degree. And since then, living on a boat as I do, I’ve spent over 200 nights sailing at sea (and I don’t mean in a harbour or anchorage), many of them spent staring up at the cosmos and wondering about it.

I do try to keep in touch with theories and discoveries and recently came across a story about Primordial Black Holes (PBHs) in Physics World.

So I started writing a bit about it and then it expanded like topsy as these things do as I started digging around. Anyway, this short article is the result.

They’re just theoretical so far

Primordial black holes are a theoretical type of black hole that are thought to have formed in the early universe. Unlike the more familiar stellar black holes, which form from the collapse of massive stars, primordial black holes are thought to form from the gravitational collapse of small density fluctuations in the early universe.

--

--

James Marinero, MSc, MBA
The Dock on the Bay

Follow me for a 2xTop Writer diet: true stories, humor, tech, AI, travel, geopolitics and small business tips as I write around the world on my old boat.