#4 How Does a Non-Developer Learn to Write Developer Documentation? Let’s Find Out! (Is this all there is to Programming with JavaScript?)

Casey Armstrong
The Documentarian Planetarium
3 min readMar 6, 2018

I’m a copywriter who writes content for the general public, but I want to become a technical writer who writes documentation specifically for software developers. This is my educational journey…

https://www.pexels.com/photo/selective-focus-photography-of-man-smiling-putting-hands-on-head-907899/

I’m nearing the end of my JavaScript Independent study course, and I have completed all the JavaScript, JSON, AJAX, and API exercises on FreeCodeCamp that I set out to complete. But, I’m left wondering, what was that all about?

Although I can vaguely see that the programming language I studied can be used cleverly to create almost anything you see on the web, I also feel like I read the instruction manual to a calculator (i.e., a little perplexed and a little zoned-out).

However, to be fair, this course did not include the more hands-on part of the curriculum where you get to create your own applications. (Perhaps this would help me regain my initial excitement and appreciate it more as a creative tool?)

Similarly, I regret not integrating jQuery in my course. I have a feeling it could unlock a more practical view of what JavaScript can do through it. Nevertheless, after trudging through the basics of JavaScript, I feel like I now know where to look for answers to JavaScript related questions (FreeCodeCamp, Mozilla, Lynda.com, and Youtube). I also gained a basic literacy for looking at functions, and I have a new appreciation for code samples that I see in API documentation, such as this one from Google Maps’ API Docs.

My Favorite Function/Lesson:

I think my favorite mini program I encountered during my lessons was this one:

function golfScore(par, strokes) {

if (strokes == 1){ return “Hole-in-one!”;

}

else if (strokes <= par -2){ return “Eagle”;

}

else if (strokes == par -1) { return “Birdie”;

}

else if (strokes == par) { return “Par”;

}

else if (strokes == par +1) { return “Bogey”;

}

else if (strokes == par +2) { return “Double Bogey”;

}

else { return “Go Home!”;

}

}

golfScore(5, 5); // Par

https://www.pexels.com/photo/silhouette-of-man-playing-golf-during-sunset-33478/

It made me think I was playing a simple video game, and it helped remind me why and how functions make sense through logic, sequences, syntax, etc.

Lastly, I think learning about JavaScript objects, JSON, and a tiny bit of jQuery and AJAX help give me a glimpse of the bigger picture of how it all plays out on the web.

The Final Project

As I wrap up this course, I have one more assignment to go, the final project. I was initially planning to try to document some IRL code, but as I look at my options now, I’m thinking that might be premature. I am considering doing one of the create-an-app exercises from Free Code Camp instead, or I am also considering an explication of Google Maps’ API Docs because they have a JavaScript specific. Or, both assignments together?

Wish me luck!

--

--

Casey Armstrong
The Documentarian Planetarium

Technical Writer obsessed with #API’s, #VR, #Chatbots, #Crowdsourcing, #Microvolunteering, #PortableHomelessShelters, and the future!!