Studying Spanish Through Clozemaster

Michael Sunderland
The Dojo
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2021

--

One of the best apps I have discovered recently for language learning is called Clozemaster. You can download it for your phone or play on the website on your computer. I look at Clozemaster as a cross between Duolingo and Anki.

Like Duolingo, it’s a gamified, free app to study a language. However, I view it as more of an intermediate level where I see Duolingo as more for beginners. In Clozemaster, you see sentences where a word is missing, and you need to input the correct word. In this way, you are learning vocabulary in context, not just random vocabulary words, so you are simultaneously immersing yourself in grammar and idioms and common structures of the language, which are all difficult things to learn.

I would say Clozemaster would be a good app to advance to once you have been working on Duolingo for a while.

In addition to Duolingo/ Memrise, this app also is similar to Anki. Anki is a powerful flashcard system using spaced repetition, which I have written about before in my studies. It’s more helpful to create your own Anki decks, although there are plenty of existing ones you can use. The cloze is one of the prominent ways to study in an Anki deck, and…

--

--

Michael Sunderland
The Dojo

Oakland, CA. Teaching, learning, sports, and storytelling.