Setting the Tone

Tenji Tembo
The Domus Project
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2017

I’ll be giving some insight into the future of The Domus Project. The intentions of the YouTube Channel, the stream on Twitch, and the Medium Articles. These are more personal goals as I continue to fuel content through these three portals, build a backlog of quality reviews and impressions, and set up a clear voice and opinion of what to expect from me.

“The Weekend” Series

I wanted to start a series of smaller reviews that focus on smaller, pick up and play titles. Titles that require little friction to get up and going, that offer some engaging game-play, or something to learn from. I want cover games, for a demographic that doesn’t really enjoy or entice themselves with games, the ones who find a free to play mobile game more enjoyable than a full fledged AAA console exclusive. Games can tell a story, offer challenging engagements and real critical thinking, and sense of value and accomplishment that most don’t get with mobile games.

These reviews of games will be short and to the point. They are intended to convince, persuade, or at least peak the interest of people who wouldn’t normally play games. These are for you. My friends in tech, my friends who drown themselves in multiple Netflix seasons, yet cock an eye when I pull out my Switch or Vita on the train. The ones who stare at their phones endlessly swiping at Candy Crush or Cookie Clicker. These games are for you. Simple 5 to 10 minute reads for your Sunday pleasure.

A few games to look forward to

Kingdoms and Castles

Kingdoms and Castle, available on Steam

Dungeon, Inc.

Dungeon, inc. Available on iOS and Android

War of Crown

War of Crown, available on iOS and Android

“A look at” Series

This series will be the bread and butter of The Domus Project. “A look at” series are long-form video content, with accompanied reads filled with extensive analysis, and critical looks at games I choose to research and review. My Horizon Zero Dawn review sets the expectation for “A look at”, and I hope to continue this with other games in the future.

These are much larger games to pull together, and will take much longer to write, script, record, film, and produce than my more smaller “Weekend” series. Expect these videos to come out much longer after launch, as the research and drafting required will take some time to pull together.

Future games to look forward to

Hellblade Senua’s Sacrifice

Apart from Destiny 2, one my most anticipated games of 2017

Destiny 2

The one and only

Streams

After publishing content on YouTube and here on Medium, I’ll be doing streams on twitch.tv/domus877. I’ll have short links to my latest pieces, as well as be playing some repeatable and regular games. I’ll also stream games I plan to cover in “A look at” series, once those videos gain some traction. Be sure to follow @thedomusproject for more information on upcoming streams.

One of the few games I’ll be playing on stream

Coming up Soon

Next video should be my thoughts on the Destiny 2 beta. Some upcoming articles on The Weekend Series. Once the video for the Destiny 2 beta goes live, Hellblade should be live on Steam and PlayStation 4, which will be the next main video for the channel. In between will be more Weekend articles, and finally, a look at Destiny 2.

--

--