Netflix Wii Channel Will Stop Working in January, and I guess that’s really the whole story actually

Even this subtitle seems unnecessary.

Sam Cook
The Dongle

--

Nintendo Wii promotional image. This doesn’t inform the story, but my editor says that every post needs a captioned image.

So yeah. There’s a Netflix app on the Nintendo Wii. And it’s not going to work anymore after January. Honestly I don’t think there’s much more to say about it. The exact date will be January 31, 2019. So I guess that’s another detail. But really the headline says it all. I’m . . . not sure how I’m going to get my 250 word minimum out of this. This publication won’t pay me if I don’t though.

Listen, I know it sucks. This entire story could have just been a tweet. But it’s news, and people click on news, and god knows every other tech and game blog is going to do a whole post about this so I guess we have to as well. But now you’ve clicked the link expecting some kind of story, and all you get is me rambling about the Wii, or Netflix, and why this is or is not surprising. And you don’t care about that, and neither do I, but here we are. Good god, that is still only 171 words.

Okay, fine, look the Wii came out in 2006 . . . it had some games. Remember Wii Sports? We all did that right? And then it had Netflix, but soon it won’t. And really, how many people even care? You probably have three things within reach that you can watch Netflix on. Every component of your home theater probably has it built in. If you told me that your HDM-effing-I cables had a Netflix app somehow, I’d believe you. That’s 261 words, I’m gonna go bill The Dongle for $15 and move on. Have a good one.

This and all other posts on The Dongle are satire, and do not actually represent the staff of a tech/gaming blog losing their minds or saying what they actually feel most of the time.

--

--

Sam Cook
The Dongle

Former writer for Tested.com and Geek.com, currently a technology professional, teacher, and father. I write about whatever is on my mind.