Documenting Your Entrepreneurial Journey — Business Advice I Will Never Forget

Michael Patrick Strauch
The Dorm Room Entrepreneur
6 min readNov 11, 2018

So, today I wanted to come talk to you about something I actually heard and watched yesterday from Gary Vee. Some of you may know him on YouTube, he’s a very well off man, he’s doing very well for himself, his work ethic is literally out of this world, it’s amazing. And he has a daily vlog and along with everything else, he has all of the social media and businesses that he shares great content on.

Yesterday’s video really resonated with me.

He talked about how he wishes before he got to where he is now that he would have documented his journey, that he would have recorded and had a camera on him at all times showing how he got to where he is, because that’s footage that he doesn’t have and that no one has ever seen.

We’ve just seen him just about almost at the peak of growing to where he is now, already doing well and having multiple businesses, but we didn’t get to see the journey beforehand. And he said something in yesterday’s video, and he said, “Any day, document over create.” And what he was trying to say about that is he was saying to document what you’re doing, document your journey, rather than trying to create content from your mind, and there’s a fine balance to both.

He explained how it’s important to create content, but he said that documenting your journey, how you get to where you’re at is what people like to see. He used a couple examples like, imagine if you saw Vera Wang sew her first dress, or if you saw Lebron James play his first games of basketball or shoot his first shots, or you saw some famous singer or something strum their first guitar, play their first song, or sing their first song, anything of that nature.

“Imagine if you saw that and you saw the whole journey to where they got to?”

I talked to so many people that ask question like, “Well, how did so and so get there? What did they have to do to get to that point?” And that’s the part that no one actually films. That’s the part that people think is embarrassing in a way, that I’m not there yet so I don’t want to show that off to people, but really Gary says that it should be relished.

You should embrace that time, you should document that time so that way when you do get to where you want to be, people can look back and say, “This is what he did. This is what she did. This is the work they used to get there. This is the x, y, and z campaign they did to go here.” And you documented everything, so you have all of your activity on footage.

Now listen, I’m going to try to do that, so that’s something that resonated so much with me yesterday that I’m going to try to start doing it, rather than just pouring off advice to you.

Have I been able to grow a successful business from my dorm room? I have, absolutely.

Do I have tips of success? I absolutely do, and I hope you utilize them.

But I’m not where I want to be.

My goal is to be a billionaire, so guess what, I’m going to document my entire journey from this point on my journey to that point. It’s going to be exciting, it’s going to be the experience, the learning process, the journey, that’s what you’re going to get to see, and that’s the part that people don’t have. That’s something that should be extremely relished like I said.

It’s too many times that you have those people, that are just trying to learn. My brother for instance he’s working on music, he’s going to a music recording college here in about six months, and he’s great. He raps and he does a very good job with it, but he’s looking at some of these other people in the industry, and especially some of the newer ones that have just got there, and he’s like, “What is that recipe? How do I get there? What do I do? What did they do to get to where they’re at? What do I need to do get there?”

Those people don’t have that documented, they don’t have the journey documented.

Some people may have had it documented but they just didn’t want to share it because of x, y, and z reasons. Or most people just don’t document it, they don’t think it’s worth showing, they don’t think they’re at the top yet.

My value doesn’t mean anything right now,” That’s not true, and I really recognized this yesterday. And the more and more I think about it, it’s actually been really weighing on me, the more and more I sit here and I’m like, “Wow, that’s true, that’s really powerful.” I would have loved to see how Gary got to where he is. I would have loved to see how Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Jeff Bezos, if they documented each of their moments, to get to where they are. How Warren Buffet got to where he is. How Mark Cuban got to where he is. These are all people that I really admire and look up to as far as business leaders in our world, and yes, I would have absolutely.

I would sit here and watch documentary after documentary, or video after video of how they got to where they are, so that way I could study them.

I could figure out what works, what are some success tips that they used to grow to where they’re at, and then model it. However, be my own person, be my own self, utilize universal tips but be my own unique brand, and that would be so powerful, so that’s what I’m going to try to do for you.

I hope you’ll join me in this journey in watching from where I am today to where I plan to be. I am going to be a billionaire, and I utilize the law of attraction, you can read that in my book that’s coming out here shortly, but that’s what I’m going to do, and I want you to come along on that journey and watch from this day on. I’m going to show you my important decisions. When I have an important decision to make in my business, whether that’s the Wix Training Academy, whether that’s this, whether it’s another opportunity I’m working on, I’m going to film it, I’m going to put it on camera and show you how I think, and show you the process that I’m going through and the journey I’m going through.

If I have a call with my dad whose my mentor, who owns his own business I’m going to film it. I’m going to show you how we talk to each other, how we maneuver conversations. I think that’s important.

That’s the stuff that everyone leaves out that no one gets to see. That’s what people are interested in. Of course, they’re interested in all of your exciting content when you get to where you want to be. I mean at that point you’re producing top-notch content usually, and you’re doing big things, you’re doing exciting things, you’re working on big projects, you’re taking big trips, doing those type of things.

But, when you’re trying to consume information and self educate yourself about a topic, or a college entrepreneur, or anything of that nature, you want to see how people got there. You want to see what they had to do. What was required of them? What work ethic did they need? What resources did they need? What connections did they need? You want to learn these things. You want to learn the in’s and out’s of how people get to where they are so that way you can model your own recipe for success based off of those universal thoughts, concepts and theories of where they got to.

If you found this article helpful, make sure to “clap” below and share this with someone who could use it.

Interested in learning more about me?

Success List: https://www.michaelstrauch.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Strauchyy

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/strauchyy

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/michael.strauch.79

Snapchat: michaelstrauch

--

--

Michael Patrick Strauch
The Dorm Room Entrepreneur

Serial Entrepreneur, Coffee Enthusiast & Massive Optimist + Hip Hop/Rap Fan