5 Bible Verses to Conquer Fear

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
The Dove
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2023

--

photo by Myia227 from Getty Images

There are thousands of phobias on record. Who knew there was so much to be afraid of?

Some are rational, and others are irrational.

Some are tangible like the fear of roller coasters, and some are intangible like the fear of death.

Some common fears include spiders, flying, and public speaking.

What are you afraid of?

I wouldn’t say I’m a total scaredy-cat, but I have my moments.

My top three are heights, snakes, and small spaces with no easy exit.

God gave us a sense of fear as an instinct to help protect us from danger.

It’s good that I’m frightened by snakes because I could get bitten. My apprehension will keep me at a safe distance.

Fear can also work against us. It can hinder our ability to function in certain ways.

Being temporarily afraid during a thunderstorm is one thing but living day after day in fear of dying is another.

Being in a state of anxiety over your circumstances is not the way God intended you to go through life.

God understands fear is a part of human nature and included many verses in the Bible on this subject.

Here are five verses to help us place our trust in God when a period of worry is stealing our peace.

2 Timothy 1:7 (NKJV) “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

God didn’t give us the spirit of fear; therefore, it comes from the enemy.

Psalm 34:4 “I sought the Lord, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears.”

When we are overwhelmed by worry, we need to seek God. He promises to hear and deliver us!

Psalm 56:3 “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.”

Trusting God is the solution to fighting the fears in your life.

Psalm 23:4 “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.”

Whatever valley we are walking through, God is the Good Shepherd who leads us to the other side. He will never abandon us in the valley.

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

We have a choice to trust God with whatever is troubling us. He can help us replace fear with peace.

As with any problem we face in life, the Bible has the answers. There are 365 verses dealing with fear.

I challenge you to memorize a few, they can help us in our time of need.

--

--

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
The Dove

Kate Dreston is a published devotional writer providing Bible-based encouragement in an easy-to-understand and down-to-earth way.