A Baby. Marvel at This Gift from Our Heavenly Father

Mrs Diane Mary Markey
The Dove
Published in
6 min readAug 15, 2023

--

Our Father has blessed us with a gift as no other. A baby to love and to care for.

Illustration by iStock.com

What Child Is This?

What Child is this, who laid to rest,
On Mary’s lap is sleeping?
Whom angels greet with anthems sweet,
While shepherds watch are keeping?

Chorus:
This, this is Christ, the King,
Whom shepherds guard and angels sing:
Haste, haste to bring Him laud,
The Babe, the Son of Mary! (William Chatterton Dix, 1865, Christmas Hymnals)

Introduction. God’s miracles. Our Father’s most precious gifts. Human children.

My two beloved and my precious sons. My Heavenly Father’s rewards for my love and for my humble obedience to Him. God’s miracles bestowed to me and to my husband. To love, to treasure and to care for. The blessed day when each was born, lovingly stored deep in our hearts. Tender memories to take with us to Paradise. To present to Almighty God in thanksgiving. Such tiny bundles of sweet love and pure joy. Such innocence and purity.

Such hints of what is to be. So many, many proud moments. In their eyes we see God still. For they, may the Lord be praised. Are both children of God. Both have Jesus as their personal Lord and loving Savior. Yes, indeed children are God’s reward. Our Heavenly Father’s gift of love and future hope.

--

--

Mrs Diane Mary Markey
The Dove

Published inspirational books on my love for God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. The articles on Medium also are Christian stories. Retired Counselor.