A Conclusive Test To Expose The Strange Idea Of Being A Christian And A Sinner

Ross Thompson
The Dove
Published in
4 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Ideogram AI by the Author

Recently I read this statement by a Christian. “I am merely a sinner saved by God’s generous grace.” If they had said I was a sinner saved by God’s grace, it would have Bible backing. To say I am still a sinner even though I am a Christian, is a strange error incompatible with the Gospel. Yet it persists in some groups of Christians. That belief breaks down when scrutinized under the truths of the Gospel.

Usually a person holding to this idea believes the blood of Jesus covers their sins, but does not have enough power to eradicate sin that is in them. Which creates an enormous problem for them. How will they eventually get rid of the sin that is in them? I presume they have a vague idea that death will solve their inner sin problem. They will leave it all behind when they die and go to heaven.

But death does not eradicate sin. Only the blood of Jesus eradicates sin. Dying while a sinner means being a sinner after death. And no sinner gets to heaven. John 8:24 “I (Jesus) told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am He, you will indeed die in your sins.” When you spend time to think about it, it becomes apparent that to be eligible for heaven we must be completely sin free at the time of our death. Not a scrap of sin in us, upon us, or attached to us !!

--

--

Ross Thompson
The Dove

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.