Counting On God’s Faithfulness in Every Season

Is God Who He Says He Is?

Olivia Edwards
The Dove
2 min readJul 4, 2023

--

Photo by: Olivia Edwards

A few years ago, I was in the midst of a season where I was desperate to see God fulfill his promises to me. That particular season of suffering pushed me deeper in my faith than I thought was possible and forced me to wrestle with the character of God. I had to ask myself, do I believe God is who He says He is?

In the midst of my discouragement and despair, I came to a new realization about the faithfulness of God.

The Bible talks about the faithfulness of God over and over again, and we know anything that’s repeated is important. Yet I’m not sure I had ever sat on that truth and thought about how I should live and think differently because of it.

What does it mean to be faithful? According to Webster's Dictionary, faithful is defined as:

faith-ful (adj.)

  1. steadfast in affection or allegiance, loyal
  2. firm in adherence to promises or in observance of duty
  3. true to the fact, to a standard, or to an original

As I let the truth of God’s faithfulness seep into my heart, I realized because He is faithful He is completely trustworthy, true, unchanging, and good.

Isn’t that the truth we need the most in challenging seasons? To know that He has not forgotten us and that He never changes?

God’s character and true nature are predicated on His faithfulness and holiness. In Him, there is no deceit or bad intentions. His promises are true and will come to pass for you and for me in His perfect timing.

The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it. 1 Thessalonians 5:24 NIV

For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory. 2 Corinthians 1:20 ESV

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him! Isaiah 30:18 NIV

--

--