Dear Scout — My Confession

I have something to tell you!

Cheryl Watson
The Dove
3 min readMay 28, 2023

--

Nana's Pic-Keep Jack Out Of The Kitchen

Hey there, Scout. My name is Jack. *I used to have a middle name, a**, and that is another story. I don't need to use it anymore anyways, as I am growing up quickly.

My Nana told me about your stories on Medium, and I thought I should get in on the action because I have severe FOMO.

But because you just had a birthday, she agreed to let me contact you here on Medium.

I had my 2nd birthday on March 5th. No big party, but I'm pretty spoiled every day anyways. A significant milestone still.

Nana was also telling me about your mom's slipper you were chewing. You were doing pretty good at arranging them in different places. You showed great restraint in waiting for the chewing part until later.

Glad you didn't get in big trouble. But I feel your pain, buddy. Anything with fluff and stuff is so enticingly irresistible!

Christmas toys that I chewed into oblivion. Pic by Nana.

Our owners don't know how hard it is not to follow our fleshly instincts. *(Or do they)*

Anyways, I wanted to share with you, Scout, that you are not alone.

You see, gulp, back when I was one year old, I ate Nana and Gramps' Italian leather sofa! Not the whole thing. It was good. I mean, it was leather!!! What was I supposed to do?

Nana calls me a knucklehead. She took and posted this pic without my permission.

My Nana took this picture, which was kind of rude; as you can see, I was sleeping.

Thank goodness that sofa was old and was free to them. Nana got a little mad at me and at Gramps for not getting after me enough. Live and Learn, I say. Nana says I'm getting an e-collar! And she did it. She doesn't use it much, though, thank goodness. She's a good Nana.

I'm so glad we got forgiveness because we are so loved. You and I have good humans to love.

Well, Scout, it was nice talking to you. If you have any adventures to share, I'd like to hear about them.

Nana took me paddleboarding last year, and it was fun! Who knows what kind of mischief me and Nana will get up to this summer?

She has started this writing stuff to pay for our adventures, and she says since I'm a working line dog, she might put me on writing full time. Crap.

I'll start writing about the secret life of a so-called Happy Christian, and we'll see how long she lets me work on Medium. *snicker….

Love Jack.

Ps: We still don't have a sofa. I hope we get one soon. I suppose I'll have to pay for it!

PSS: Nanas's story about me and how much she loves me.

The story that Jack is responding to:

Diana Pippin

--

--

Cheryl Watson
The Dove

The Happy Christian. Growing in the Grace and Knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.