Does God Have a Tattoo?

A tattoo may not be so bad after all

Jenny Calvert
The Dove
3 min readSep 5, 2023

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Several years ago, my daughter begged me to get a tattoo with her on our last day of vacation. Then she pulled at my heartstrings when she said, “Come on, Mom! It will be a mother-daughter memory we can share forever with matching tattoos.”

Well, that did it. Sarah is my only daughter. I love her, and she wanted to share a special memory. Here was my hesitation; I believed tattoos were not Biblical. I was referring to this scripture:

You shall not make any gashes in your flesh for the dead or tattoo any marks upon you: I am the Lord. (Leviticus 19:28, NRSVUE)

My problem was trying to live with one foot in the law, forgetting I am now in the era of grace. I already had pierced ears, which I’m not sure is Biblical either. I was also aware that tattoos did not hold any stigmas that they once did. Most importantly, it was an act of love for my daughter, and maybe, somehow, this love can be translated as God’s love for us. Is this a stretch of the imagination? Possibly.

So off we went to get a small tattoo on our right shoulder of a heart with musical symbols. With or without the tattoo, however, I would never forget my daughter or any of my children. I love them so much, but also, I am reminded of how much God loves us.

Can a woman forget her nursing child or show no compassion for the child of her womb? Even these might forget, yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me. (Isaiah 49:15–16, NRSVUE)

So, there you have it. Two things: 1.) God has compassion for us and will never forget us. 2.) He has inscribed our names in the palm of His hands. Wow!

Now, this does not necessarily mean that God has a tattoo. The interpretation is up to you, and it is not the point.

Here is the point:

There is no more genuine love than this: God gave His only Son to appease our angry-god image. We had laws to help us, but more was needed. Jesus is the propitiation (hilasmon) for our sins. Stong’s Accordance explains that the Greek word for hilasom is hilasmos, meaning appeasing. The greatest love of all would be this: He gave Himself as the atoning sacrifice for our insufficiencies.

Some moms may forget their children, but God will never forget or forsake us. Whether God does or doesn’t have a tattoo matters not. We are always in His sight, mind, and heart. The gashes on His head, back, side, feet, and hands are His tattoos of love for us. Who knows? Maybe someday I will see my name on the palm of His hand.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
The Dove

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.