Holy Hormones Bible Study: Teaching — not Entertainment

EXQUISITE ELEGANCE OF THE WRITTEN WORD OF GOD?

The Divine Onion

Brad Banardict
The Dove

--

Photo by Nishant Kumar on Unsplash

A recent post from An Offensive Truth, about coveting, hits the nail on the head.
(Unfortunately, the post has been deleted by the author. That is a loss.)

I don’t know about you but I find it difficult to do a short post (perhaps you’ve noticed) because the Written Word of God is inexhaustible, like a Divine Onion. Peel away one layer and more secrets are revealed. Instead of getting smaller it grows bigger.

Do a word search on covet and Colossians 3:5 pops up || Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.

How can covetousness equate to idolatry?

When you covet, you have set in your heart that God didn’t give you what you know you deserve. You have made yourself like the Most High. You have made yourself god, just like someone else we know.

Isaiah 14:13–14
You said in your heart,
“I will ascend to the heavens;
I will raise my throne
above the stars of God;
I will sit enthroned on the mount of assembly,
on the utmost heights of Mount Zaphon.
I will ascend above the tops of the clouds;
I will make myself like the Most High.”

So the Ten Commandments open with, “You shall have no other god,” and closes with, “Don’t become a god, yourself.” Perfect book-ends. How cool is that. Gives tingles.

The forgoing evidence has not been presented to convince any reader but to allow a personal decision to be made. There is much more to know about this subject. Perhaps you’ll pay another visit, sometime.

All Glory to the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

(We all have a plank in our eye. It’s bigger than we think.)

--

--

Brad Banardict
The Dove

I’m a chubby little guy relying entirely on God’s Grace to get to Heaven.