Faith That Receives

Three ways I’ve learned to experience God’s promises

Gary L Ellis
The Dove

--

Image design with Canva

In my experience, a lot of faith teaching is a subject that’s presented as a formula of things to do that will produce the desired results.

When we read the words, “For we walk by faith, not by sight.” (2 Cor. 5:7), we assume faith filled actions are the rule, yes?

For many years, I lived my life trying to perform in ways that would please God. I assumed that if I discovered the actions (works) that REALLY please God, He would be delighted and give me the things I desired.

Isn’t that what the Bible verse says?

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4)

Yes, IF…

If you interpret the words through the lens of a transaction based mindset. You do this and I’ll do that.

However, the original Hebrew thought could just as easily state:

“Delight yourself in the Lord.”

  • Be tender toward…
  • Find your joy and pleasure in…

And your desires will be the same as His desires.

--

--

Gary L Ellis
The Dove

Over 40 fruitful years as a Life Coach, Public Speaker, Relationship Counselor, and Creative Communicator. FOLLOW and get my EMAILS for updates!