God’s Hug

Trish Renee Author
The Dove
Published in
7 min readJul 24, 2023

--

Finding strength when all seems lost

Photo of white leather bracelet with the word “FAITH” in multi-colored letters
Photo Property of Author

🙏🏻Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1)🙏🏻

🪷For we walk by faith, not by sight. (2 Corinthians 5:7)🪷

Since getting sober eighteen months ago, I work daily to become more spiritually mature. To grow in Christ, I study His word in the Bible, listen to the Joyce Meyer’s “Enjoying Everyday Life” podcast, and attend church where I sing out loud, proudly. I also pray thoughtfully and graciously, asking for God’s help to assist me with putting His words into action. At times, however, I still find it challenging to keep the faith during life’s darker moments. It’s not that I believe God’s abandoned me, but I wonder if, maybe, he doesn’t hear me.

A woman praying outside
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

A few months ago, I bought a FAITH bracelet from my church’s gift shop and wore it daily as a reminder that God is always with me. One week after buying the bracelet, I returned from a shopping trip and, to my utter disappointment, discovered that the bracelet was no longer on my wrist. I could’ve lost the bracelet many places, so I knew in my heart it was gone for good. Despite my sadness, I prayed that the person who found the bracelet also…

--

--

Trish Renee Author
The Dove

I am an author who endeavors to share my experience, strength, hope, and faith through my science-fantasy novels, short stories, and personal essays.