How chasing the manifestation of God’s power over His word almost ruined my faith.

N'Gai Fentress
The Dove
Published in
8 min readJul 3, 2024

--

Photo by Ian Nicole Reambonanza on Unsplash

I’ve been in the charismatic church for over 10 years now and I’ve made many mistakes and one of those mistakes I made was chasing power more than God. Now I’ve seen many mighty moves of God. I laid hands on a woman, and she got healed of neck pain in church, I’ve seen demons cast out of people, I’ve seen and given accurate prophetic words to people and I’ve seen the Holy Spirit fall and lay people out on the altar. And that’s not including the divine connections , answers and miracles I’ve seen and experienced myself. The gifts and power of God are for today, but one thing I do regret in the beginning stage of my walk is chasing miracles.

In the beginning stage of my walk in I was amazed by the power of God, but I began to chase that aspect of God more than God himself. During my wilderness periods I would chase people and prophetic groups just to get a prophetic word about situations. When a famous “man or woman of God” would come to town I would run to the conference or event so they could prophecy, pray, or even lay hands on me. My mindset would be “ I’m being attacked by the devil, surely they can deliver and solve my problems” or i would go “Look at that anointing on their lives certainly having them pray for me will get me closer to God”.

--

--