How Deep Are Your Roots?

Paula W. Thomas
The Dove
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

Adversity, trials, tribulations, misfortune, difficulty, hardship, distress, sorrow, misery, heartbreak, affliction, suffering, disaster oh, and let’s not forget everyone’s favorite bad luck. I’m sure I could come up with some more. However, I’m sure you understand these all have a similar meaning. You may have used one or more of these words when describing something happening in your life or have sat across from someone who used a few of these when pouring their heart out. Regardless of the word used to describe what anyone has or is going through; one thing will remain the same. They are on the winning side if their roots are deep in Christ.

Depending on the type of tree, when cut down, some roots will continue to grow for a while, which I never thought of. Some roots will sprout again to start over. When a forest is burned down, we only see the destruction of what is above the ground and never really think about what is happening underground. Now, it is possible for roots to catch fire and spread underground under certain conditions. But think about how, within a few weeks of a fire, the roots will continue to provide life for the tree, bush, or saplings.

This got me thinking about the scripture verse.

“Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against thee.” Psalm 199:11

--

--

Paula W. Thomas
The Dove

I am a christian and I love to share life experiences. Owner of Anchored In Christ