I Got Time Today

Felicia Smith
The Dove
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2023

--

And it came to pass in the process of time, that the king of Egypt died: and the children of Israel sighed by reason of the bondage, and they cried, and their cry came up unto God by reason of the bondage. And God heard their groaning, and God remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac, and with Jacob. And God looked upon the children of Israel, and God had respect unto them. Exodus 2:23–25 KJV.

Photo by Alexander Schimmeck on Unsplash

I adore how verse 23 starts in the King James Version, “and it came to pass in the process of time”. Such a colorful way to emphasize that years had passed. God promised to bring the Hebrew slaves out of Egypt and the people waited such a long time for that promise to be kept, but God rescued them when he knew the time was right.

Time is a wonderful thing. I am now seeing the benefit of respecting the process of time, which comes from learning to trust God completely. Instead of patiently waiting on the Lord, I believe it is human nature for us to immediately take matters into our own hands. We try to correct what we interpret as a deficiency or mistake. There have been times I immediately went into fix-it-mode, not considering God’s authority at all, because apparently I knew best right? Not!!!

Oh but in the process of time, I am learning the benefit of petitioning my Father prior to pulling the trigger on my decisions. Truly no pun intended, some decisions I have…

--

--

Felicia Smith
The Dove

Retired US Army Officer that spends my days reading the word of God. Writing is my therapy. Hoping my words bless you. May Blessings Chase After You!