I Will Give Thanks to the Lord

I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High

Ed Jarrett
The Dove
2 min readDec 15, 2022

--

A pond edged with flowers and grass
Photo by Ed Jarrett

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart;
I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and rejoice in you;
I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High.

Psalm 9:1–2 NIV

What a wonderful expression of thanksgiving to the Lord. David thanked God, not for some specific thing, but rather for all that he is. And for all that he has done.

David thanked God will all of his heart. With his whole being. Not the thanks we might offer to someone who offers us a cookie, or some other transient gift. Rather, what we might offer to someone who has pulled us from a raging river.

And in his thanksgiving, David proclaimed all that God had done. What he had done for David. And what he had done throughout his creation.

And, just in case we did not get it the first time, David repeats himself in verse 2. Be glad and rejoice in God. And sing the praises of his name.

Give Thanks to the Lord

I am a casual football fan. And I occasionally hear other fans singing the praises of their favorite quarterback or edge rusher. In other venues, you might hear the praises of another sports star, or someone from the world of politics, technology, or philanthropy.

But how much more appropriate to sing the praises of our God? And to recount all that he has done; that he continues to do; and that he will do.

Proclaim what God has done for you. Tell the world about the greatness of our God.

Give thanks to the Lord and bless his name!

--

--

Ed Jarrett
The Dove

Disciple of Jesus. Husband, Father, and Grandfather. And I love sharing what God is teaching me from his Word. Follow me at aclayjar.net.