I’m Thankful for My Sisters

A month of thankfulness - Day 21

Jonathan Carey
The Dove

--

Author’s Photo; Our latest picture together from back in October.

We’re all in our 40s now, which is so hard to believe. Where does the time go?

In a thankfulness journey like I’ve taken this November, it ends up being the people you reflect on the most. And in this case, these two special ladies have been with me the longest. Rebecca has been with me the whole time since she’s two years older. Melissa came along when I was almost three, so I don’t remember anything without her either. I’m Jonny to them, but they’re the only ones.

So I’ve wrestled with what to write about them, to honor them, celebrate their deep faith in the Lord, and inspire others, while not sharing things that only belong to us. And to keep it from being a whole novel for each too. They have both impacted my life in ways no one else could have. Sure, there are teammates, classmates, and roommates who have had an impact, but none of them were blood. There’s a difference when you’re connected by more than the circumstances of life. They were chosen by God, outside of our control for a reason.

They’ve both experienced life’s heartache, which I’ll keep to myself today. They’ve both experienced life’s greatest victories too. That’s their story to tell. Just know that they’ve inspired me and those around them with their grace and courage through life’s highest…

--

--

Jonathan Carey
The Dove

Husband, father, assistant principal, and coach. Story-telling Christ follower. Top Writer in Sports. Here to inspire.