Is it Necessary to Pray in a Certain Way to be Heard by God?

What is the best pattern?

Jenny Calvert
The Dove
3 min readMar 23, 2023

--

Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

God gave us the perfect pattern for prayer when the disciples asked, “How should we pray?” Jesus responded.

Pray therefore in this manner: O our Father who art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive them that trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen. (Matthew 6: 9–13, NMB)

It’s a beautiful and extraordinary prayer. Most people know this one by heart. I try to say it almost every day. However, I must confess that because I have it memorized, it’s easy for my wandering mind to wander!

I’ve heard ministers even give a pattern to the parishioners. It was something like this: We are to Praise, Repent, Ask, and Yield our acknowledgment of God when we PRAY. Again, I try to do this, but God knows me better than that preacher. Why? Because the preacher is up in the pulpit, but God is down in my heart!

I read an excerpt from an author who said she was always amazed at how some people plunge into their requests before acknowledging who God is when they pray.

I would love to know if this lady, as a child, ever ran to her mother or a loved one for comfort after falling and scraping her knee. I know I did.

With arms and legs flying, blood running down my leg, and my mouth wide open crying, I would lunge at my mom, knowing she could make everything better. Her embrace and tender loving care made everything right in my world. The only thing I hated was that red medicine. It stung!

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

To make my point, I will ask these questions.

  • Did mom know that my love for her and hers for me made me run to her in the first place?
  • Does God care more about my words or what’s in my heart?
  • Was mom narcissistic by needing praise before she would help?
  • Does God love me as much as my mom did, or does He love me more?

Sure, sticking to a pattern is fine, but during those times of extreme turmoil, when the only thing you can utter is, “Help!” it’s magnificent! Go ahead and run with arms and legs flying and your mouth opened wide, crying to the one you love.

The Praise is that you came to God. The Repentance is getting up, turning away from the harm and turning to Christ. The Asking is looking to Him for a healing touch. The Yielding is our childlike faith as we relax in the arms of our Healer.

It’s okay to plunge ahead with your request during difficult times. Don’t worry about what you will say or how you will say it. Let the Holy Spirit intercede on your behalf.

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. (Romans 8:26, ESV)

God knows your heart better than anyone else. Racing to Him is what He desires. Don’t rehearse your words!

Papa sees you as His little child, and His lap is waiting.

Just run!

--

--

Jenny Calvert
The Dove

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.