Jesus Passes His Mantle To…?

Ross Thompson
The Dove
Published in
5 min readApr 4, 2024

--

ALL MANKIND

Ideogram AI by the Author

I heard a preacher this week discussing the transferring of mantles in the Bible. He used Joshua 1:1 Now after the death of His servant Moses, the LORD spoke to Joshua son of Nun, Moses’ assistant, saying, Moses My servant is dead. Now therefore arise, you and all these people, and cross over the Jordan into the land that I am giving to the children of Israel. :5 …as I was with Moses so will I be with you..

And 2Kings 2:13.14 As Elisha watched, he cried out, “My father, my father, the chariots and horsemen of Israel!” And he saw Elijah no more. So taking hold of his own clothes, he tore them in two. Elisha also picked up the cloak that had fallen from Elijah, and he went back and stood on the bank of the Jordan. Then he took the cloak of Elijah that had fallen from him and struck the waters.

His main point was the transferring of Jesus’ mantle. Christ’s mantle was way to big for one person and is given to all of us. The preacher was referring to Christians. An unexpected passage in Acts reveals Jesus’ mantle was given to all mankind, saved and not saved. Acts 2: 16–18 No, this is what was spoken by the prophet Joel: In the last days, God says, I will pour out My Spirit on all people (some versions say all flesh). Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on My

--

--

Ross Thompson
The Dove

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.