The Central Truth of Christian Life Often Overlooked in Church

That (DAD) God Wants His Daughters to Know

Cheryl Watson
The Dove
2 min readJul 25, 2024

--

on canva by author

Many of us never grasp this simple yet critical teaching from the Bible: that we actually become new creations in Christ.

So many Christian women struggle like fish out of water after being born again. It was a wonderful experience at the start, but then:

😞 We got disillusioned and wonder what we did wrong.
😞 We din’t understand the truth of our transformation.
😞 We probably never heard about it in church either.

Think of It Like This:

👩 You used to be like a fish that couldn’t breathe air.
👩 You wanted to live on the promised land, but
👩 You’d get out of breath, flustered, and discouraged because you weren’t created to live by breathing air. You didn’t have the lungs for it. 🐟

To live a better, air-breathing life, you’d have to replace your water-breathing lungs with air-breathing lungs.

We can’t replace our own lungs.

We used to be alive to sin — that’s what our hearts were set on. A heart for sin simply can’t live with God in His promises.

But now, we have a heart for God in Christ.

Galatians 2:20: “My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by faith, trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

2 Corinthians 5:17: “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

2 Corinthians 5:7 For we live by faith, not by sight.

This new life as a new creation is lived by faith in Jesus. And just like a fish out of water, trying to live by the old way of sight will cause suffering.

I can’t explain the daily peace and joy I experience since my mind was finally renewed to this truth.
Of course, as the Bible says, we all stumble.
Our new selves still have our old bodies.

That’s why I am creating a Faith Lift Guide. To remind myself of the basic core elements of being a Christian and get a stronger trust in God.

Message me or comment with any suggestions, concerns or questions.

--

--

Cheryl Watson
The Dove

The Happy Christian. Growing in the Grace and Knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.