Unveiling The Divine Mystery: The Trinity Involved In Our Salvation

Ross Thompson
The Dove
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2024

--

GOD WAS IN CHRIST-

ideogram AI by the Author

In Genesis 37 we read Joseph’s jealous brothers conspire to kill him, but on seeing an approaching band of Midianite traders, decide to sell Joseph to them instead. They dip Josephs tunic in goats blood and take it to their father Jacob. He recognized it and said, “It is my son’s robe! Some ferocious animal has devoured him. Joseph has surely been torn to pieces.” Then Jacob tore his clothes, put on sackcloth and mourned for his son many days. All his sons and daughters came to comfort him, but he refused to be comforted. “No,” he said, “I will continue to mourn until I join my son in the grave.” So his father wept for him. (:34,35)

Seeing Jacobs great suffering at the supposed death of his son, have you ever wondered why God did not tell Jacob Joseph was not dead? I believe it is explained in something Paul the Apostle said. That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death. (Philippians 3:10) I believe God was allowing Jacob to participate in the fellowship of His sufferings. To participate in a portion of the sufferings God the Father went through when His Son Jesus was tortured and killed.

Possibly we will never know what it cost God, who is perfect love, to have to stand by…

--

--

Ross Thompson
The Dove

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.