Was I Chasing a Dream or Stuck in a False Identity?

Setting kids up for success as they reach for their dreams

Jonathan Carey
The Dove

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I’m working on updating my classroom’s bulletin board. The kids traced their hands and arms, making it look like they were reaching for their dreams from the bottom of the board.

I don’t think it looks like the zombie apocalypse, but a few students have mentioned the resemblance.

As they shared their dreams, I started thinking about mine at that age. What was I chasing, and how can I help them understand that their dream doesn’t make them who they are?

Photo by Ray Graciano on Unsplash

Not long ago a man asked me what the LB stood for on the shirt I was wearing. Since my whit escaped me at the moment, and I’ve only gained 5 lbs. since high school, I simply answered with the Louisville Bats.

Having no knowledge of professional baseball, and how close the Bats are to the show (they’re AAA, the minor league level just below the majors), he says, “Did you ever play for the Bats?”

Now I once had a 2nd grader accuse me of being a pro soccer player, but that was different. Anyways, I kinda giggled on the…

--

--

Jonathan Carey
The Dove

Husband, father, assistant principal, and coach. Story-telling Christ follower. Top Writer in Sports. Here to inspire.