We Mustn’t Kid Ourselves

Marvin McKenzie
The Dove
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2023

--

Job 31:27 (KJV)

And my heart hath been secretly enticed, or my mouth hath kissed my hand:

Job hits a sore subject right here. The heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked. Who can know it? The immediate context has to do with wealth. Trusting gold, elevating ourselves as if we had gotten it by our own means.

sore subject, genzart.ai

We mustn’t kid ourselves. I’ve not met a soul, not even one, who hasn’t, to some degree, expressed the sentiment that he or she was better than another:

  • Smarter
  • Harder working
  • More disciplined

Which they believe accounts for their better standard of living.

Job gets to the heart of this matter in Job 31:15 (KJV)
Did not he that made me in the womb make him? and did not one fashion us in the womb?

We have no good reason to judge, condemn, or look down on anyone.[1]

We are who we are because God made us thus. [2]

[1] To the one who objects about those who break the law, and are in some way a menace to society, God provided government for the purpose of judging them. We are free then to forgive them and to pray for them.

[2] Romans 9:20 (KJV)
Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?

To my readers:
Thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word. I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

--

--

Marvin McKenzie
The Dove

Pastor, self published Amazon Author, avid student of the Bible. teacher of the Word of God in college level . Daily visit with God www.marvinmckenzie.org