What if Today Was Your Last Day?

A near-death experience can quickly put life into perspective.

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
The Dove
2 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Image made in Canva, Photo Credit: ajlber from Getty Images Pro

Have you ever had an experience where you thought you were going to die?

One ordinary morning, I hopped into the shower. I was feeling completely normal and thinking of my busy schedule at work.

Suddenly, a strange, sick feeling washed over me like a wave. Starting at my head, it slid down to my feet. The room started spinning, and I was too dizzy to stand. I thought my heart would beat out of my chest.

I had never felt so unwell. My mind went dark.

Is this how I’m going to die?

After an ambulance ride to the hospital, I was diagnosed and received treatment. Thankfully, I recovered.

If you’ve ever had the experience of thinking you are about to die, you will understand when I say everything becomes crystal clear.

You realize what is important:

  • Am I right with God?
  • Have I believed and surrendered my life to Him?
  • How is my relationship with Him?

You realize what is not important:

  • The hurt you’ve been holding onto.
  • The boss you are so eager to please.
  • The disagreement with your spouse/loved one.

In that crucial moment, you aren’t thinking about how many times you went to church, how far up the corporate ladder you’ve climbed, or how much money you’ve made.

The only thing that matters is your relationship with God.

It’s easy to think you have plenty of time to make things right. But many times, people pass from this life to the next without warning.

No one knows the day of their death.

“And as it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment,”
Hebrews 9:27 (NKJV)

If today was your last day, would you be ready to meet Jesus?

The Bible explains how to be ready.

“And he brought them out and said, ‘Sirs, what must I do to be saved?’ So, they said, ‘Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved,’”
Acts 6:30–31a

When your time comes, and you are faced with death, you can have a peace that passes all understanding.

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment, but has passed from death into life.”
John 5:24

If you enjoyed this and would like to receive my weekly devotional, please subscribe.

I also host a 4-minute weekly podcast called Kate’s Devotional Podcast, which can be found on Apple, Spotify, or wherever you find podcasts.

I have published “In Times Like These: 30 Mini-Devotionals for Those With a Loved One Facing Terminal Illness,” which is available as an eBook or paperback on Amazon.

Originally published at https://katedreston.substack.com.

--

--

Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals
The Dove

Kate Dreston is a published devotional writer providing Bible-based encouragement in an easy-to-understand and down-to-earth way.