When God Sends You A gift You Didn’t Want

Cheryl Watson
The Dove
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2023

But it was precisely what you needed.

You can’t always get what you want.

Jack and Cheryl’s first Paddle Board Workshop. So much Fun!

Have you ever felt the sting of realizing you had acted ungrateful in quite a childish manner towards God? What about the guilt? Oh my. I know those uncomfortable feelings.

You Get What You Need

Two years ago, my son bought an energetic but gorgeous German Shepherd puppy named Jack. I knew my son wouldn’t be able to keep Jack for reasons I can’t get into here.

And I was rather upset about it because I was sure I would end up with the pup as I was already puppy-sitting regularly.

I did want a dog. But I wanted a smaller, more mature dog.

One that wouldn’t require much attention, and I could still feel good about being a rescue dog owner. No fuss, no muss was my motto; I checked out of life and was contentedly waiting in my super comfy comfort zone for my time to go. I was praying for a low-maintenance dog for company.

The truth is, I thought God was finished with me. I couldn’t figure out what He wanted from me, and I was just done with it.

As it usually goes with God — He has different plans than His children have.

Jack — 6 weeks old

God knew I would get the puppy all along, and I am so happy that I did.

Even though I was disappointed at not getting my way, again, God was growing me up. Doing that thing He does where He works out all things for good. *Romans 8:28*

My son bought an independent, high-drive, strong-willed pup. There would be no sitting around waiting for the end with this fellow around! He is 120 pounds of brute force, and He can go where he wants to go. I had to get with the program.

German Shepherd puppies are notorious for biting ankles and legs, as it’s in their nature to herd.

So, lots of training and adventures for us. I have very little time for sitting in front of the television. Oh, I also lost 20 pounds!

Jack is a gift from God, and He used this blue-eyed wonder pup to open up my life. A child of God has no business settling for worldly desires. Thanks, Dad.

What About You Though?

I used up the whole story talking about Jack and me. Has there been a time or two that you got something from God that didn’t match your expectations?

You were probably more gracious than I was and took the time to have a heart-to-heart with Dad. He loves that when we go to Him.

I’d love to hear your stories. All gifts from Dad are good.

Share your story with me of the best gift you never wanted but needed!

I Love My Jack

--

--

Cheryl Watson
The Dove

The Happy Christian. Growing in the Grace and Knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.