When Heaven Mourned

A John 3:16 Meditation

Paul
The Dove

--

Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16, NIV)

Some days I wonder how much God loves us

Today my mind wanders into the “so” in John 3:16
I’ve read that verse many a time
I’ve zipped through it
Confessed it
But today I asked God
Can You explain the “so” to me?

What was it like in Heaven when Jesus gave His life?
Did You dim the stars?
Did you banish the angels from Your sight?
Did You silence the music?
Did You cease beauty from existing in Heaven?
Was it quiet in Your abode?

I committed a sin one day and asked You how You felt
I cried for an hour till I could take no more
It pains You when we sin
And yet You love us
How much pain did You feel when Your beloved gave up His life?

God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God. (2…

--

--

Paul
The Dove

I write poems on the walk with God, relationships and life in the Pacific Northwest :)