Who Is The Bride Of Christ?

Ross Thompson
The Dove
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2023

--

ARE CHRISTIANS THE BRIDE OF CHRIST? A BIBLE STUDY

Bing Image Creator by the Author

I had accepted the general idea, without thinking about it much, that the Church (Christians) are the Bride of Christ. Then I read a book by Charles Capps in which he called that idea a ‘sacred cow’ of the Church that was not correct. I thought about it and decided he might be right. After all, the New Testament says many times we are the body of Christ. I thought how Jesus’ body can be His bride at the same time.

I remained confused about the topic for years and had to leave it in the to hard basket (as my Pastor used to say) after asking the Lord to show me the truth on the topic. I don’t know why I did not do a Bible study of the subject. If I had done so I could have been free from confusion a lot quicker.

The New Testament has only two specific verses about the Bride of Christ. Verses that state clearly who or what the Bride is.

(Revelation 21:2) I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.

(Revelation 21:9,10) Then one of the seven angels with the seven bowls full of the seven final plagues came and said to me, “Come, I will show you the bride, the wife of the Lamb.” And he carried me away in the Spirit to a mountain great and high, and showed me the

--

--

Ross Thompson
The Dove

I am a New Zealand Citizen. living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a longtime Christian. I write kid’s fiction, and have non fiction published on various topics.