Writing Has Brought Me so Much Closer to God

There is a calming effect to writing every day

Don Sabado
The Dove

--

Free image from Pixabay

Currently, I write during any hour of the day. Whenever I have free time, I write. While the views and reads have gone down for many, mine have gone down, but my earnings have remained the same.

There are two glaring reasons I like writing on Medium that other platforms don’t have.

  1. I can write about anything I want on Medium.
  2. I get paid to write about anything.

That is a huge plus Medium has over any other platform. I never thought I would be writing and getting paid for it. My website, Don’s Math Blog, sits there with a few regular monthly views; however, I have never monetized my site.

It will be November 2022 in several days, and I still need to plan for my return home to Kauai. I’m focused on writing every day rather than publishing daily.

As I read the many articles on Medium, I can’t help but think there are many great writers with their stories. Writing and reading on Medium have been a blessing in more ways than one. Some of the stories are heartwarming. I’m taking these quotes out of context, but it captures what it means to me to be part of Medium’s writing community.

“Press in to your dreams,” — Kail Harbick

“Prophecy your own future” — Gary L Ellis

Teaching in the classroom has consumed the majority of my working life. Doing something that long has formed my opinion about many things about education, people, and life.

There is a calming effect to writing every day

I’m thankful for my financial stability, but there are more important things to life than money. Money is important because it pays my bills. I’m not worried if I don’t earn $100 or more on Medium because I’ve gained something more in return. There is a calming effect to writing on Medium.

I write for two places when I’m not pitching to magazines to accept my articles.

  1. I write on Medium and Substack
  2. I write on my daily devotions to God

For my daily devotions, the second writing has no audience except God. Since writing on Medium, my prayer life has been stronger than ever. I’ve never written about it, but about seven years into my teaching career, I received a scare that I had never received before.

Storms of life

I was having constant headaches and didn’t know why. Teaching through headaches was difficult. My doctor, now retired, decided to order an MRI. Next to the optic nerve was a tumor almost the size of a golf ball.

I saw my life flash before my eyes.

“You will need to have surgery,” said my doctor. He also told me to see a neurosurgeon.

“If the tumor is benign, you’ll be fine,” my doctor reassured me.

I said, “if not?”

“You haven’t crossed that bridge. Try not to worry,” was my doctor’s reply.

I prayed to God every day. My mom was by my side, praying with me. I vowed to God if I got through this storm, I’ll serve Him for the rest of my life and never ask for anything else. The tumor was benign. Everything is okay.

Did I ask God for anything else? Of course, I did. Read the About Me section from my profile.

I was chasing my dreams and prayers where I currently live; my last relationship with my ex-girlfriend nearly destroyed my relationship with my twin brother. Thankfully, that relationship’s scars are small dots in my rearview mirror.

I’ve never really understood the scripture,

As iron sharpens iron,

so one person sharpens another.

Many years later, I understand it because I’ve lived it.

Final Thoughts

Writing and the habit I developed through writing have brought me back to my daily devotion to God. Medium is so much more to me than the pay I receive monthly.

Returning to the part where I mentioned if I ever asked anything from God again, there is one more thing I’d like to do before I take my last breath on earth.

I want to return home to Kauai to be with Lia. You can read about it in the my about me section of my profile. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll be okay because God has pulled me through so many storms in life; how can I doubt Him again?

Thank you for reading my article.

--

--