Just Right

Some lyrics from my country phase

Laurie Livingston Nave
The Dream Verse

--

Image by Bobby McIntyre on Pixabay

My mama is a debutante, my dad’s a PhD
I spent some time in charm school, learning manners to a “t”
My grammar is impeccable, I know which fork to hold
My thank you notes were never late; I always fit the mold

And so you’d think I’d want a man who wore a fancy tie
Who starches all his dress shirts and goes first class when he flies
You might expect the country club would be my cup of tea
But if you think that’s who I am then you must not know me

Cause the man who’s gonna steal my heart won’t need things that are fine
His hands, they can be callused if they’re holding on to mine
I don’t need a pedigree, just hold me every night
A tough and tender man who really loves will be just right

It’s been awhile since I’ve been young, and the fairy tales are gone
And I don’t need the trappings, just a passion fierce and strong
Yeah, the man I dream of now finds his joy in simple things
And a smile or kiss from him can give my heart it’s wings

--

--

Laurie Livingston Nave
The Dream Verse

The downhill trip is more fun than the uphill. A 50+ year old mother, wife, nerd, musician and writer. Follow me at https:www.laurienaveauthor.com