THE RENAMING.

who does a chick run to when faced with tribulations / if not the mother hen?

Animashaun Ameen
The Drinking Gourd
2 min readJun 18, 2021

--

Image: silhouette of bird flying. Photo by Slawek K on Unsplash.

I want to learn how to fly. I want to learn
how to live among the clouds; my arms
metamorphosing into wings as I glide through the sky,
my body becoming one with the heavenly bodies.
I want to fly into God’s kingdom, offer him salt,
or maybe kola nut and bitter kola before tendering
my case in front of him and challenging him for answers.
I mean, who does a chick run to when faced with tribulations
if not the mother hen?

I am a chick drowning in a pit of confusion.
No. Wait. I do not want to be a chick,
neither do I wish to drown. I want to be an eagle.
To soar. To perch on the right hand of God and
tender my case before him:
Dear God, what is the origin of this madness?

Image: Animashaun Ameen looks into the camera with one hand resting on his cheek. He’s wearing a dark shirt with white splatters. He has a shaved head and goatee. The image is in black-and-white.

Animashaun Ameen is a poet and essayist. His writings are mostly centered on memory, sexuality, and identity. His works have appeared/forthcoming in Roadrunner Review, Stone of Madness Press, Perhappened Magazine, EroGospel, and elsewhere. He lives and writes from Lagos, Nigeria. An oddball. A butterfly. He tweets @AmeenAnimashaun

--

--