Who Gets To Be An Ancestor In A World Failing To Adapt To Climate Change?

As Muslims, we have a responsibility to not only protect all other living creatures on this planet but to reconsider any people-centric ways of thinking.

Nasibah Elmi
The Drinking Gourd

--

Photo by Julia Joppien on Unsplash

As a lifelong tree-hugger now in my mid-twenties, I went through a roller coaster of emotions during the week leading up to and following the Global Climate Strike. As I saw photos and videos of people gathering all over the world to demand action on climate change, I felt proud, hopeful, ashamed, and a little wary all at once.

I was engulfed by a wave of pride and the sense of relief that comes from the realization that there may be hope for us after all. The sheer number of young people showing up and striking proved to me that they were aware of the looming crisis of climate change and were engaged enough to organize around the issue of climate change.

With that pride also came a sense of shame and disappointment.

I felt like I wasn’t doing enough in the fight against climate change and moreover, I felt that I hadn’t been doing enough my entire life. My sustainable living habits have seriously ramped up in the last couple of years, but as I clicked through pictures of teens with colorful…

--

--