An open letter to coffee lovers everywhere

Parachute Coffee
Parachute Coffee Presents: The Drip
2 min readDec 21, 2017

Dear world,

On this particular morning in 2016, I ran out of coffee at home. Eyes half shut, wrapped up in a warm coat, I walked 20 minutes my house to the corner ‘hipster’ cafe.

Better days start with better coffee. And ‘hipster’ cafe coffee is better coffee — something fresh, personalized and quality obsessed. Something simply better.

I mumbled my order, and the barista asked for my name. I sat in the corner of the cafe. Eyes still half shut, I scanned the room. I was surrounded by coffee lovers also imagining the same cup of coffee - in their own kitchen, back at home.

I sat and imagined I was in my my own home. Sitting in my pyjamas before I started my day. A small and precious amount of personal time in the morning. The ‘hipster’ cafe brought to my door, into my kitchen. Better coffee, in my own home, at my fingertips.

It actually seemed so far away. At the time, my coffee buying was lumped in with my grocery buying routine, and it was soulless. Dinosaur grocery store brands don’t care if we want our coffee fresh, personalized, and high quality. Dinosaur coffee doesn’t have a roast date or q-grade, and will sit on the shelf and collect dust for months before some poor soul picks it up to bring home.

To the coffee dinosaurs, coffee is simply a commodity with a price tag — add water, cream and sugar.

What if we could make it easy for coffee lovers across North America to skip the store shelf, and bring the hipster cafe home too? What if a determined group of digital natives could finally bring about the extinction of the coffee dinosaurs?

The conversation took 20 minutes with Jake before we hit the ground running.

In 2017, we began building a team of digital natives around this mission, for coffee lovers everywhere. Our most cherished early subscribers were thrilled. Better home coffee for everyone.

And in 2018, we’re lifting off.

Welcome aboard.

Sincerely,

Michael

--

--