Interviewee Waits 4 Weeks for Results of Persuasion Check

“I knew going in that it was a competitive position in a prestigious company, the boss has to have a challenge rating of at least 18.”

benny
The Dungeon Tribune
2 min readMay 14, 2024

--

After an agonizing 20 business days, a local job applicant has finally been notified that she failed her persuasion check at her most recent job interview. According to the interviewee, Erica Hinmes, the outcome wasn’t altogether a surprise. “I knew going in that it was a competitive position at a prestigious company. I figured the boss has to have a challenge rating of at least 18.” Hinmes tells The Dungeon Tribune. “So you expect a DC of 20 or so, if they are being generous. It was worth giving it a shot, and the experience points from interviewing are invaluable.” Hinmes continued, “After a long rest I’ll start the process over with another position.”

That isn’t to say that the candidate went in expecting to fail. “They did everything you’re supposed to do to prepare: dressed appropriately, practiced the common questions, asked local sages for fortune telling,” says roommate and fellow jobseeker Syrean DuChamp. “We even enrolled in seminary school so we could cast Guidance on each other.” Yet, for all the effort, Hinmes is convinced they could have done more. “The band I hired for bardic inspiration didn’t show up. I probably shouldn’t have paid them all up front. And to be honest, I’m kicking myself for not optimizing more when I was in college.”

The interviewer, Les Kentel, a CR 5 HR monster, says that the possibility of second interview might be possible in the future if another opening comes up. “It was a great interview, just not good enough. The other applicants rolled higher,” notes Kentel. “And if I could have used the Help action I would have. I really wanted to see her succeed, but I have to be fair to everyone.” Kentel went on to praise Hinmes. “I could see it working out in the future. They kept their cool during the interview, while many become frustrated when we don’t let them use their passive persuasion. It’s corporate policy.”

For Hinmes, the rejection wasn’t even the worst part of the ordeal. “The waiting was terrible. I’ve never been good with down time. And while I’m glad I took the interview, I can’t help but wonder what would have happened if I used that action to cast Fireball.”

The Dungeon Tribune is available on Medium.com and on DungeonTribune.com. Follow us on Instagram, X.com, and Facebook

--

--

benny
The Dungeon Tribune

Writer for dungeontribune.com, The Evil Dragon’s Most Trusted News Source (@dungeontribune). @bennyelbows on X