WEDDING APP FEEDBACK

Afsara Begum
The Dynamic Web
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2016

For the formative presentation I used Google Slides to present my idea and show the class my progress so far. The class gave me feedback and showed me what I did well and what I should improve on. Here are some questions to organise my feedback and show how I feel now after the formative presentation.

HOW AND WHAT DID I LEARN?

The app that I am making is a wedding venue app which allows users to search for venues in different areas in London in an organised price format. I explained this to the class and how I want it to work and the feedback I received was that they prefer if I showed the price side of the app more as there are already apps out there that show a list of wedding venues in London. To stand out in the market I should make a straightforward app which shows the prices in a simpler way. I focused on the problem that asian weddings are expensive and this is a problem and the feedback was why don’t I help people with that problem instead of location venue app. I told them the reason that I wanted to do a location app was because I don’t have have advanced coding skills and I am a beginner at this however from the feedback they taught me to not limit myself and be ambitious in my goals.

WHAT WORKED AND WHAT DIDN’T?

The class were enjoying the idea that there is a target market out there who would be interested in my app. However the problem was how much service I would provide, do I want to be a location app where people can find wedding venues in London or should I be a pricing app where users can find venues depending on price. My researched worked and showed there is market however my idea standing out didn’t as I showed ideas that already exist.

DID I REACH MY GOALS SO FAR, WHY OR WHY NOT?

My initial expectations were that the class may not respond well to my idea however I did want my idea to prosper and I can move on and develop my app. However I have been set back and cannot move on as I need to reevaluate what my app should be about.

HOW DID I FEEL DURING THE PROCESS?

Presenting my work was great as people were listening and responding to my ideas. I feel people engaged properly and gave feedback directly to each point that I made which means they were genuine advice. Presenting my idea in this form was a good idea as it helps me get a second opinion on what I am doing right from wrong. Doing a formative presentation is helpful as its a test run for the summative presentation.

MY APP IDEA: PERSEVER, PIVOT OR PANIC?

My idea is on the fence of pivot but still in a continuing stage. I will have to focus on one idea from either being a location app or a pricing app. Once I figure this out then I will be able to carry on I don’t feel like I have to get rid of anything or change much so I am definitely not in a panic stage. The idea of doing a wedding venue app is still on the go!

--

--

Afsara Begum
The Dynamic Web

Year 3 student studying Web Media Production at Ravensbourne University