Bring Out Your Dead

What happens to One of US, affects All of Us

Paschal_the_Yobi
Sent as a

Newsletter

9 min readAug 14, 2020

--

I’ve seen enough people who die for an idea. I don’t believe in heroism; I know it’s easy and I’ve learnt it can be murderous. What interests me is living and dying for what one loves.

~Albert Camus, from The Plague, 1947.

https://share.transistor.fm/e/9d472d7c/dark

On Monday, October 26th, 2020, my brother-in-law, whom I have known since I was 8 years old, died from complications from COVID-19 and a heart attack in Odessa, Texas.

He had spent 30 years in the Odessa Fire Department, saving lives. He was a manager of the Pinkie’s Liquor on the corner of 8th St, and Dixie. He was the hardest working man I have ever known. David had saved my sister’s life the moment they met.

Julie and David are the only example of “Love at First Sight” that I have ever witnessed or known, in my 47 years of life.

I have often told the tale of when my mom, sister, and I had just finished meeting with one arm of our tight circle of born-again hippies. Our disillusioned utopians had gathered to meet the younger brother of a man whom we young ones loved to call ‘Uncle John,’ whose unusual height often required him to bend over…

--

--

Paschal_the_Yobi

I Am, We Are, The Question has been ‘Is there an US’? “ Graditude is accepting where I am at. It is Trust that Truth IS! https://www.linktr.ee/yobiworks