Best Advice I Ever Got About Ecommerce That Changed Everything

Antanas Baksys
The eCommerce Handbook
4 min readMar 22, 2016

--

I met this man, who was in his late 50s, accidentally while visiting San Francisco. It turned out that he is a super experienced ecommerce professional who owns now 19 online stores across the US and 6 stores in the UK.

We agreed on taking a pizza at his favorite restaurant at Stockton Street and discussing e-commerce.

Unfortunately, his only wish was that he would remain nameless for any articles. I accepted this condition. However, what he taught me changed everything and it was worth it. Visualize everything below in quotes from my Evernote:

Listen to your customers

Young merchants like you often ask me about the key ingredients to grow a successful ecommerce business. And while I can go deep into the details, my answer is simple but powerful:

You can always work on your conversion rate from a website funnel improvement perspective, invest in customer acquisition, expand abroad, etc.

But the first key thing you must ask yourself is: from a customer point of view, what’s blocking me from doubling my business in the next 30 days? How could each customer spend more? How do I retain customers? What could lead customer who don’t buy to buy?

--

--