The Impact of the Quarantine Experience on the Mindset

A personal reflection from behind the window frame

JACLYN GOLDSTEIN
The Edge
4 min readAug 3, 2020

--

Photo by Jaclyn Goldstein on Instagram

Special Note: I am sending out love to our heroes in healthcare who continue to risk their lives daily during this horrific period in history. You are an inspiration to us all.

In the wake of the pandemic, it’s clear that our lives have changed. We have moved out from behind the window frame of our homes, ready to embark on a new journey that is foreign to us. For many areas, masks will be the new normal as the coronavirus cases and deaths continue to rise.

Now more than ever, it’s important to remember what matters most in light of this ongoing tragedy. As I reflect on the impact of the quarantine, I am reminded yet again that life is short.

The Importance of Human Connection

Quality conversations became even more meaningful for me, especially with the absence of physical presence. It is so easy to take for granted the closeness of a moment, the brush of a shoulder, the warmth of a hug.

Video chat options allowed me to stay connected with friends and family. It provided a vehicle for communication to make up for the physical spaces once shared. While educating my family on the art of video technology, I also acquired a new part-time job as a technical support aid.

Within the same realm of video connection, I felt a shift towards online chat groups that allowed support systems to migrate into the digital space. This helped create an even broader reach to replace the face to face interactions that were once considered commonplace. The power that comes from human connection through positive support is invaluable.

The Love Affair Between Food and Exercise

The digital space also provided a new athletic arena to help us avoid the Quarantine 15. Home exercise became trendy again as gyms offered online exercise classes. To combat the feelings of isolation, releasing endorphins became my new drug of choice.

Yes, I will admit it, I became one of those work out fanatics. I purchased an inexpensive spin bike and started hitting the virtual bike path during the workweek. On the weekends, I took to the streets as the masked avenger to break the cycle of the quarantine routine.

The rise of the athletic culture fueled more focus on good eating habits. As many restaurants closed, at home cooking became the new way of life. Due to the accessibility of instructional video, amateur cooks (this girl included) were able to learn tricks of the trade to maneuver through the kitchen.

I became my own personal chef, striving to promote healthy eating like a boss. It’s quite an incredible experience when you have more control over the food you are putting into your body.

The Art of Letting Go

As I started to shed the pounds, ridding my pantry of junk food (not all, of course) led to an awareness of a need to purge unwanted clutter. My focus turned to the physical possessions around me.

As I was clearing the space around me, I not only came across items that I no longer needed but items in perfect condition that were never used. Instead of allowing these articles to continue a life without appreciation, I donated them. Isn’t that what this world is all about, sharing and supporting one another in a time of need?

This process of shedding the physical created a springboard that launched me on an emotional journey. I realized I was holding on to negative feelings that were doing nothing to help support my path in life.

The Hidden Spaces of the Mind

In the process of letting go of the physical and emotional baggage acquired over the years, a beautiful thing happened. I realized a healthy body and a clean environment can provide the platform for a focused mind. I felt connected to the world again and my mind was even more clear.

During this process of finding myself again, I came across pieces of my past that had been collecting dust: old books, photographs, and even a harmonica. (Apparently, that was once a career goal.) Among the photographs, I came across an image of a broken, rusted window. I had captured this shot while on a bike ride years ago. Holding the photo in my hand transported me into that space again. I remembered how my soul came to life that day.

Reliving this memory in my mind in combination with watching a show about the life of Emily Dickinson, reawakened the writer trapped inside. My desire to connect with the world by way of the written word was coming alive again.

The quarantine experience forged a mindset shift for me, a shift that brought clarity to the forefront of my life. It allowed me to find a renewed focus for my path in life, where I saw myself going, and what was important to me. Life is precious, all the more reason to fight for the life you wish to live.

Now ask yourself, how has the quarantine experience changed your mindset? Do you see the world differently now?

--

--

JACLYN GOLDSTEIN
The Edge

Writer | Breathing life into abandoned spaces | In pursuit of a path that sets my soul on fire