I’m Confused About That Last Point

Derek Edwards
The Edwards Edition
2 min readMay 1, 2015

--

I generally like these Farmer’s Insurance commercials. While most insurance companies depend on parades of irrelevant mascots falling well short of the goal of humor set before them, Farmer’s (and Allstate, I should mention) usually stick to laying out the case for having insurance.

The above is one of a series of ads Farmer’s has put out explaining the need to be engaged in one’s insurance coverage, showing scenarios which might occur to the uninformed insuree without being properly covered in a given policy. It might be that a certain item is underinsured, and could not be replaced if destroyed. Or it might be that a certain item is overinsured, and the insuree is paying more in rates than is necessary.

This particular advertisement, though, leaves me with a question which I will give addressing Farmer’s directly:

Should I be concerned about Yetis attacking my personal vehicle? I have searched for statistics concerning Yeti attacks on automobiles, and I have found that not only are there no published figures on the matter, there is, in fact, no agency in existence to compile such data. Therefore I ask you, Farmer’s Insurance, if you have some data of your own on the matter, to please make such data publically available so that the public and me can make an informed decision regarding insurance against this particular contingency. Thank you very much for your time.

Note: If and when I receive a reply from Farmer’s Insurance on the whole yeti attack matter, I will be sure to share it here. Please follow this publication to receive any such updates.

--

--