Is Mixed Active Investing contrarian?

Bullish or bearish?

Chris Hjorth
The Elliott Says letters
3 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Hi friend,

I agree that talking about Mixed Active Investing can create confusion.

Facebook censors posts mentioning this, thinking by mistake it is crypto speculation.

What is it?

When should it be used?

Is it like being contrarian?

Let me explain.

Want to beat the markets in any condition? Learn Mixed Active Investing here.

Mixed Active Investing is not an investing style or strategy.

It is an approach to investing.

It has more to do with mindset than following some mindless process or religiously sticking to certain indicators.

First and foremost if you are a Mixed Active Investor you always start by evaluating your personal advantages and strengths.

Then you take a look at the current market.

Then you take a look at the assets that interest you.

Sometimes you will be following the market. Sometimes you will be contrarian. Sometimes you will be doing something completely removed from the most popular current approaches because the current popular market has simply grown too risky and unpredictable.

For example, lately, I have little time for active trading so I mainly look for Elliott Wave no-brainers in assets I know very well because I have been trading them for some time. I know my time available will be even less over the next months so I’ll likely switch back to my default of rotating industry sector indexes with a long-term perspective. None of these two approaches have much to do with either the current market trends or how it is typically recommended one should invest.

Am I bullish? On my strategy always.

Am I bearish? I always manage risk as much as possible, so yes.

Am I contrarian? Not in the strict sense, loosely one could also call it that.

I don’t recommend investing my current way though because I have no idea if it would work for you. Your knowledge is different and your character is different. Unless you are my clone reading this, the likelihood of success is low.

This shouldn’t stop you from taking inspiration and experimenting.

If you only know one investing strategy with a couple of tactics you do not have much choice.

The main task of a Mixed Active Investor is to strive towards lifelong financial education and increasing sophistication options.

Note that I say sophistication options, this means that there is the opportunity but not the obligation. Adding complexity for the sake of it is rarely a good idea. Aim to keep things simple for you.

Play, experiment, have fun. Learn as much as possible. Discover new edges and advantages.

Create your own unique strategies and know when to apply them to the market.

The more you know, the more opportunities you see and the less the market swings affect you.

As a Mixed Active Investor, you find yourself with a higher confidence and investing becomes simply a fun game with lucrative outcomes.

What is your current mix? Or maybe it is time to revisit your strategy in relation to your time available?

Have fun and make profits,

Chris

Thank you for reading! :)

You can find all past letters here.

Don’t miss out and get my letters in your inbox first, join here for free.

DISCLAIMER: None of this is financial advice. This letter is strictly educational and is not investment advice or a solicitation to buy or sell any assets or to make any financial decisions. Please be careful and do your own research.

--

--