48 Hours in Tallinn, Estonia

ryan
The Endless Traveller
4 min readMay 18, 2020

--

Tears filled my eyes as my bus left the bus station in Saint Petersburg. I was physically ready to head to Tallinn, Estonia but my heart wasn’t. Nonetheless, I had to move on as my Russian visa was going to expire, and no way I was going to risk overstaying it, especially with the bureaucracy hell I had the pleasure of going through while entering the country.

It was a surprisingly comfortable 6-hour bus ride. It wasn’t expensive too. It had everything one would expect for modern comfort — free wifi, personal mini-televisions like those in planes, free coffee and tea, and a toilet onboard [they really outdid themselves].

Tallinn is a picturesque town and the capital of Estonia. Filled with cobblestone streets and throwback medieval buildings and architecture, the Old Town of Tallinn transported me back a few centuries. I was at a loss for words. It was my first time in Europe [if you consider Russia part of Asia] and growing up I could only imagine how these towns in Europe looked like in real life through a screen.

Fast forward a few years and I’m actually here. It was amazing.

Relatively cheaper than most Western European countries but more expensive than Russia, this Baltic nation boasts an interesting café scene which I found to be a major highlight of my time there. Quirky establishments transforming old, abandoned spaces around the city really boosted my energy and creativity, which was pleasantly reflected throughout my entire dining experience. From the decorations to the atmosphere and the food, it had originality written all over it.

Also, don’t worry if you can’t speak Estonian. They are practically bilingual in English as well, although it will be appreciated if you can learn some basic words in the local language as with every country you visit.

Pancake with raw smoked ham, cream cheese, and sun-dried tomatoes paired with bread kvass.

The Old Town can be navigated on foot, in fact, it is the preferred mode of transport [not like there are many others, anyway]. You can always cycle or drive, but there isn’t any public transport inside the Old Town [not a bad thing, by the way]. It is an amazing way to absorb the beauty of the place, get lost in the charming streets as well as relive your childhood dreams of walking on cobblestone paths [at least for me it was]. If you’re feeling tired, plenty of cozy restaurants and cafés will be right there ready to fill up your stomach or quench your thirst.

Some places that you cannot miss while you’re there are St. Olaf’s Church [Oleviste kirik in Estonian] where you can pay 3 euros to go up for a breathtaking view of the city, Kompressor [for amazing pancakes in all flavours], Reval Café and F-Hoone [nice breakfast or brunch spots].

Too bad I was only there for 48 full hours, or I would have definitely ventured out of the Old Town as I am sure Estonia has plenty to offer outside their famed capital.

Semolina Porridge with jam and berries.

However, if you ever end up in Tallinn and only have two days, it will be enough for you to experience the entire Old Town [although you might not be able to cram all the historical knowledge or stuff yourself with all the delicious local food]. You can’t go wrong with Tallinn, and I have no regrets stopping by this town before moving on in my solo journey.

Accommodation I stayed in

Tallinn: Old Town Backpackers [cozy spot, perfect for solo travellers]

These were originally posted on my blog, which I found more tedious to manage than Medium. These are stories from a trip I embarked on in March to April 2019.

--

--