Ultimate Packing List for a Solo Trip in Winter

ryan
The Endless Traveller
3 min readMay 21, 2020
All I brought on my 2-month solo adventure

I am writing this to help me remember what I packed, what I did right, and what can be improved for future travels. As I go through this, feel free to let me know what I missed or could have packed better! Maybe you can even pick up something useful for your future trip too.

For context, I am a male from Singapore [used to the tropical climate here] and these are what I packed for my 2-month solo adventure through China, Mongolia, Russia, Estonia, Finland, and France in March and April 2019 [Winter to Spring season].

Also, everything I packed managed to fit into my trusty Osprey Farpoint 40L backpack and Quechua Arpenaz 10L daypack to bring with me onto carry-on for my international flights [Singapore to Tianjin on Scoot, Helsinki to Paris on Norwegian Air], which meant it was all under 10kg combined and fit the size restrictions [woo!]

Essentials:

- Osprey Farpoint 40L Backpack

- Quechua Arpenaz 10L Backpack

- Passport and other travel documents, cash, etc.

- Personal medication

- 1.5L Nalgene water bottle

- Packing Cubes [unreal space-saver especially if you’re backpacking]

Clothing:

- Good insulated hiking/walking shoes [mine were from Caterpillar, super reliable!]

- 2-piece detachable Hyvent ski jacket [puffy inside jacket with a windproof and waterproof outer shell from The North Face]

- 1 thin windbreaker [only item with the primary purpose of fashion]

- Smartphone-friendly winter gloves

- Warm beanie/winter hat

- 2 long-sleeved t-shirts

- 3 t-shirts

- 2 pairs of trousers

- 1 pair of hiking pants

- 2 pairs of shorts

- 3 pairs of socks

- 5 pairs of underwear

- 2 sets of thermal wear [HeatTech from Uniqlo]

- 1 microfibre towel

- 1 belt

Hygiene:

- 1 toothbrush

- 100ml toothpaste

- 100ml acne face wash and facial cleanser

- travel-sized electric shaver

- tiny deodorant

- 1 personal hair comb

Electronics:

- Phone [Android]

- Portable charger

- Spare phone [iPhone]

- Bluetooth earpiece

- Wired earpiece

- DJI Osmo Pocket

- All the charging cables

Others:

- Foldable shoe bag

- Backpack rain cover

- Money Belt

- Gorilla tripod for phones

- Notebook and pen

- Recyclable shopping bag

- Tiny compass

Don’t worry as you will be able to stock up on other supplies on your journeys like sim cards, food, most hygiene products, and laundry can be done at most accommodations [I was able to do it at all the places I went] at a cost, of course.

I realized immediately when I reached my first destination that my jacket was a mistake. A two-piece jacket with an inner layer too thin to wear on its own most of the time and an outer layer too bulky and warm for the climate, not to mention how troublesome it was to repeatedly take it out and put on as I had to go through countless security checkpoints in China and Russia. However, it was the only existing winter jacket I had and I did not exactly have the funds to just buy a new one when this one is in perfect condition.

Also, I did not plan my clothing for the milder [beginning of Spring] season in Europe. This meant I wasn’t dressed for the urban life in cities like Helsinki and Paris but this is just a really tiny inconvenience as my choice of clothing I brought on my trip was essential for Northern China, Mongolia, and Russia in March.

So there you have it, my packing list for my 2-month solo trip from China to France overland [mostly] in the Winter-Spring season. It is far from the perfect packing list but this worked for me and I hope that by sharing it you might find it useful not to pack unnecessary things. Of course, the list will change depending on your country’s climate, your gender, and your travel style but ultimately this is just here to help you if you need it!

Do let me know if you have any advice, opinions, or experiences on packing for your own travels for me!

These were originally posted on my blog, which I found more tedious to manage than Medium. These are stories from a trip I embarked on in March to April 2019.

--

--