CHRISTMAS MEMOIR⎟PHOTO STORY

A Christmas Tree of Memories

What’s in your Christmas tree?

Natalie
ENGAGE
Published in
7 min readDec 22, 2022

--

Christmas tree in Longwood Gardens PA / Author’s Image

All the lights in the living room are turned off except for our Christmas tree. I wait until late at night when no one is around and crawl under to find my perfect spot where I lay on my back and just look up.

This is one of my precious childhood Christmas memories.

I would get lost in the lights where there was no space or time. Carols played in the background further nurturing what would be my favorite time of the year, the Christmas season.

Is it a coincidence my name is Natalie?

My childhood Christmas tree decked out in colored lights and ornaments was always to the left of the blue and green checkered couch. Our family adopted the tradition of a day designated “putting up the tree and decorations day!”

It was always an evening when Dad took the reigns. He was often gone from home most days during my childhood years, traveling extensively or being out for another business meeting.

But putting up the tree — Dad led front and center.

Dad designated our first job, the lights: my sister and I carefully spread them out on the floor to check that they worked. Piece by piece we pushed them into…

--

--

Natalie
ENGAGE

Wife, mother, teacher, people/music lover and writer: sharing bits of her soul one story at a time.