Short Horror Story Series 5: About “War”

Short Story In Shadow
The Short Fiction Collection
2 min readJun 21, 2024

--

AI Image generated by Author

Keyword is war. There is no good war or bad peace.

The World War

The Fourth World War was completely transformed by this new weapon.

When the ropes of the wooden chariot were released, stone projectiles could be hurled hundreds of meters.

The Radio

We relied on radios to relay information, receiving commands from headquarters in a timely manner every time.

Until one day, I discovered the radio wasn’t connected at all. The so-called commands were just recordings.

The Armistice

After years of war, we finally signed a peace treaty.

I put down my weapon and embraced my wife for the first time.

Her body was stiff and cold.

The Trench

We huddled in the trench, taking cover from the artillery fire. The air was thick with fear and the stench of blood.

“Don’t worry,” my comrade said, “the war will be over soon.”

He pointed to the sky, where a mushroom cloud was blooming.

The Endless Drills

--

--

Short Story In Shadow
The Short Fiction Collection

I write dark short story for fun, I create over 1000 stories a year. There are way too many reasons to follow me! :)