Your Weaknesses Don’t Bother Me

Gary Vaynerchuk
The Entrepreneur’s Journey
2 min readJan 27, 2015

--

I repeat all my mistakes over and over and over again.

Really. In meetings with my staff, we always come back to the things I could be doing better. YouTube. Not being the bottleneck. Biting off more than I can chew. These are all things I could improve on, try to do better, and sometimes I do. I’ve hit my stride right now on YouTube with The #AskGaryVee Show (although I still think I could be doing more). Right now my team and I are working on figuring out how to not make me the bottleneck. I try not to make the same problems for myself, but month after month it just seems to happen. I bite off more than I can chew. I crave things that make me the bottleneck.

The thing is, I’m a big believer in betting on strengths, and not focusing on weaknesses. Seems like the natural response, right? Sure. But I actually struggle to think of weaknesses for my team, my staff, and the people I work closely with because I am so focused on what we are great at. And those are a lot of things. That’s where I put my energy and time, where I keep my thoughts, and my biggest efforts. I owe it to my team to find what we are amazing at and push that to the forefront.

Betting on strengths might be the most underrated strategy in modern business. I’m serious. We have an obsession with improvement. We spend time trying to correct weaknesses, when we could be just paying attention to the strengths. Why? Again, I’m talking about a strictly business scenario, because weaknesses in personal and family life should be given attention and care. But in the office, at work, on your team: focus on the strengths.

I know a lot of you feel differently. I respect all opinions, and I never want to imply that the way I work is for everyone. But I do hope you find some value in hearing all this.

The bottom line is really this: I don’t give a rat’s ass about weaknesses. I think about my own so rarely, that I wouldn’t even know how to fix them. I want to be the best at a lot of things, so I’m thinking about that. But I never approach it as “this is a weakness.” I think: “How can I be better than everyone at this one thing?” Hey, it’s worked for me. Try it out, and see if it’s for you.

Thanks for reading! If you liked it, please scroll down and click the recommend button. It would mean a lot to me.

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk
The Entrepreneur’s Journey

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets