The young Aussie entrepreneur who built an automotive behemoth is now investing in cryptocurrencies: Tom McPherson shares his story

Editorial Staff
The Entreprenuers Diaries
3 min readApr 25, 2021

Motor Culture Australia has enjoyed tremendous growth and success in the two short years since it was created. With over 100.000 members, this automotive platform gives away massive prizes in the way of supercars and bikes and provides a host of benefits that include discounts and access to car events and rallies. The company is also renowned for its generosity in donating to local charities around the country.

What’s even more remarkable about Motor Culture is the fact that its founder, Tom McPherson, was only 20 years old when he started the platform. Motor Culture wasn’t his first business venture, and it definitely won’t be his last, but his cryptocurrency investments marked a distinct turning point in his business dealings, increasing his portfolio 20x.

McPherson always had that drive to succeed, to be the best, even as a child.

“I’ve always felt the need to be the best at anything I put my time into,” he says. “When I first started playing football I was passionate about it, and it was the same for everything else that I tried in life. I have this innate desire to do more and to be more.”

McPherson’s first job was at McDonalds as a manager.

“I found myself always wanting to outperform my colleagues by getting the best drive-through times and the best service. I also wanted to learn more and more about the operation of the business itself. And this is where my passion for building businesses originated. Now, I have a million ideas and not enough time to pursue them all!”

McPherson first started a business of his own at the age of 19. It didn’t go well, and neither did the following four businesses that he set up in the year that followed. Then, after investing half of his savings into the stock market at the age of 20, he lost everything when the market crashed. At that point, McPherson decided to take a risk and invest in cryptocurrency.

“I wanted to try something different,” he says, “so I started by buying Bitcoin for $14,000 and made a good return. That got me serious about investing in crypto. It’s a booming market just waiting to be capitalized on if you have the funds.”

With a multi 7-figure portfolio, McPherson says that he’s always looking for new ways to diversify his investments and his business ventures.

“If you just have a single source of income, I would strongly recommend that you diversify. We live in such an uncertain economic climate — you never know when the next pandemic might hit, for example — so it just makes sense. It doesn’t have to be cryptocurrency, just look around you and discover the opportunities. There are plenty of different ways to create wealth.”

As to the future, McPherson plans to achieve a net worth of $50 million, and expand his business ventures into internationally renowned brands. He also wants to be sure to capitalize to the fullest extent on the currently booming cryptocurrency market.

--

--