ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY

7 Steps We Can Take to Reduce Our Carbon Footprint and Protect Our Oceans

Driving a sea change in how we live our lives.

Sarah Courtney Burry
The Environment
Published in
11 min readMay 29, 2021

--

Image by Canva Pro and Courtney Burry

You may be reading this article from the comfort of your apartment, decked out in a pair of jeans and a t-shirt. Perhaps you are even snacking on a roast beef sandwich and thinking about taking your car for a spin.

Life is good.

Or is it? Because many of these activities are negatively impacting our environment and wreaking havoc on our waterways and oceans.

It turns out what we eat, wear, put on our bodies, feed our pets, and the very houses we live in, all play a part in climate change. Thankfully, there are several ways we can minimize our environmental impact as we move through the day. And while making changes in your life may seem daunting, most of these tweaks are incredibly easy to do. You just need to get started.

I got my start five years ago when my health fell apart. I spent my days in unbearable pain and was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I had to do a complete 360 on how I lived my life. It turns out my new lifestyle was not only good for me, but it was also much better for the environment and our oceans.

--

--

Sarah Courtney Burry
The Environment

5X top writer. I love to use satire and humor. I write about travel, politics, family, feminism, sports, health & music. So, basically everything.